Is Online Advertising Recession Proof?

29 Dec

Working in the industry I guess I have to be careful about what I say here. Unlike Alistair Darling I try to be careful about my use of words when talking about sensitive subjects as recession. But I was reading an article in Business Week today, which prompted this long lingering question of how recession proof are we. Their article I think sums up much of what those of us who work in the industry think; which ultimately Online verses traditional ad formats has some versatility in its implementation. Strategic campaigns can be well place, if marketers know that the budget will be around to fund them, but Online gives you shorter lead times, to make choices between tactical or strategic campaigns depending on the brands interests are at that time. This ability to be free from months of consulting, planning and execution can be priceless in an increasingly erratic economy and it is for this reason that Online should fair better than most. Recession proof, not totally, but I know which side of the fence I would like to be when storm hits… roll on 2009.

Leave a Reply

