Viral Marketing – where it all began…

9 Jul

So my first forray into digital marketing – my 2006 final year marketing thesis on Viral Marketing.

I’ll never forget the day everyone “discussed” their proposed topics in a room, could they have been any more boring? – I knew I needed to do something else, something a little different. When I presented my idea to my proffessor the blank gaze I recieved in return said it all – she had never heard of viral marketing, or as it happens had the majority of her colleagues at the university.

The problem was/is that online marketing is growing at such a rapid rate thats its pretty hard to keep up at times, and as a result a lot of students studying markeitng degrees at UK uni’s are being advised to examine more traditional forms of media. But surely that’s an area that needs the least research? What about the new forms on marketing springing up in this new media age – conversational marketing, social media marketing, rss advertising, blog marketing, and the list goes on. Why aren’t students encouraged to add new research / material to much needed new areas of digital marketing, as opposed to adding to the clutter of existing research?

Anyway, enough of me rambing. The dissertation can be downloaded in here (sans appendix) – I hope that someone finds some use for it, and if you do let me know what!

2 Responses to “Viral Marketing – where it all began…”

  1. Giannis June 30, 2009 at 5:13 am #

    Dear Babac
    I am now writing my thesis on viral marketing and i found your thesis of great help….
    I would love if you could send me through an e-mail the appendiz of your thesis to help me even more…..
    Yours trully, John

  2. sarabpreet July 15, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    Hi Babac,
    I am planning to do my dissertation on Viral Marketing in the restaurant sector. I would like to ask you for help regarding the questionnaire which I have to design. I would be highly obliged if you can help me out in this regard.

    Thanks & Regards,
    Sarabpreet

Leave a comment